DEC Reminds New Yorkers That Residential Brush
Burning is Prohibited Until May 15

Burn Ban Reduces Wildfire Risks, Protect Lives and Property

With the start of spring and warmer temperatures expected, the state Department of
Fnvironmental Conservation (DEC) reminds New Yorkers that residential brush
burning in towns with less than 20,000 residents is prohibited in the state through May
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"Along with the milder temperatures that come with spring. the risk for wildfires also
increases,” DEC Commissioner Joe Martens said. "New York prohibits residential
burning during the high-risk firc scason to reduce the number of wildfires and protect
people, property and natural resources. Since being enacted in 2009, the ban has been
very effective in reducing the number of wildfires. and we want people to be aware that
they need to put safety first."

Open burning of debris is the largest single cause of spring wildfires in the state. When
temperatures are warmer and grasses and leaves dry out, wildfires can start and spread
easily and be further fueled by winds and the lack of green vegetation.

New York has had strict restrictions on open burning since 2009 1o help prevent
wildfires and reduce emissions. The regulations allow residential brush fires in towns
during most of the vear, but prohibit such burning in spring months - March 16 through
May 15 - when most wildfires occur. Campfires using charcoal or untreated wood are
allowed, but people should never leave such fires unattended and must extinguish
them. Burning garbage or leaves is prohibited year-round.

In the five-year period since the ban was enacted, the average number of spring fires
per year decreased by 43.2 percent. from 3.297 in 2009 to 1,425 to 2014.

Violators of the open burning state regulation are subject to both criminal and civil
enforcement actions, with a minimum fine of $500 for a first offense. To report

environmental law violattons call 1-844-DEC-ECOS (1-844-332-3267) or report

Some towns, primarily in and around the Adirondack Park and Catskill Park, are
designated "fire towns." and open burning is prohibited year-round in these
municipalities unless an individual or group has a written permit from DEC. To find
out whether a municipality is designated a "fire town” or 10 obtain a permit, contact the
appropriate DEC regional office. A list of regional offices is available on DEC’s
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website.



